Skip to content

…the impact of ATTITUDE

February 20, 2009

ATTITUDE

“…life is 10% what happens to me, and 90% how I react to it.”

The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life.

Attitude, to me, is more important than facts. It is more important than the past, than education, than money, than circumstances, than failures, than successes, than what other people think or say or do. It is more important than appearance, giftedness, or skill. It will make or break a company … a church … a home.

The remarkable thing is we have a choice every day regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change our past. We cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable.

The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude … I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me, and 90% how I react to it. And so it is with you … we are in charge of our Attitude.
By Charles Swindoll

Benefits of a better attitude:

1. Your relationships are fuller, more harmonious, and more beneficial. The better your attitude, the easier it is to resolve conflicts.

2. Your health is better. Research shows that negative emotions of all kinds are detrimental to your long-term health and that positive emotions are beneficial for your body and mind.

3. You will make more money. People are hired and promoted as much for their attitudes as for their skill and knowledge.

4. You make better decisions. Studies show that people are more creative and better able to reason in a good mood than in a bad mood.

5. You will feel happier more often.

To have a good attitude all you have to do is make a conscious decision. You have to decide to… have a good attitude.

Make it a daily goal, and everything else will follow.

Adjusting ones attitude is a vital part of self-improvement. For example the Serenity Prayer is a core element of most 12-Step programs.  It focuses on assessing a situation prior to reacting to it. Which leads people to think logically about their attitude and actions in response to the event, opposed to letting the event control your attitude.

The Serenity Prayer

The Serenity Prayer

Follow these links to learn/read about how pessimism is bad for your immune system and heart.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2009 3:40 am

    I LOVE the serenity prayer…I think I say it daily. I like the blog so far! Also, there is a book at Anthropologie in the sale section (I think it is like Choose Happiness?). A good book to read!

  2. March 10, 2009 7:27 am

    Hi Samantha….

    I too discovered the power of attitude and now find it one of the very few things I have any influence over in my life (aka: things I can change).

    I once allowed my life to be guided by feelings. They were the key determining factor of my actions and decisions. A lot of painful experiences taught me that my feelings were not a very reliable guide for what I did, how I thought, and how I made decisions.

    Fast forward to today…. through many painful years of discovery and growth… all of which I am grateful for…. I now focus mainly on my attitude. I make a practice of choosing my attitude in spite of how I feel or what others say or try to influence me to do.

    I learned something valuable from some Joyce Meyer teaching called “Pressing Through”. She taught that the determination to press through the painful circumstances of life would take you to places that you would never go if you just let pain and discomfort of feelings guide you.

    The amazing thing is that when we set our attitude a certain way, and refuse to be easily swayed, that feelings almost always get into line with where our attitude is taking us.

    I have discovered this to be so true. Amazingly. It has been life changing for me.

    She went on to say that the time to start making good choices and taking good actions (attitude) is while we were still in pain or discomfort of whatever circumstance we were in. This would be the only way “through” the circumstance and the pain we felt would then be worth something. We would become stronger as a result.

    If on the other hand we quit or avoided the painful circumstance, we would not grow and learn from it. We would have dodged it. Our attidude would have lead us to quitting, hiding or avoiding.

    As a recovering drug addict and alcoholic, I can attest to the quitting/hiding/avoiding behaviours as being a result of a negaitve or ignorant attitude.

    As I began to recover, I found again that it was a result of a healthier, positive attitude that I could sustain for a day at a time. Or if I was too weak or tired, I would shorten the sustaining to an hour, or 15 minutes if possible. But either way, it always worked and the result was better than if I took a negative attitude.

    So ya, our attitude fits onto the very short list of things that we can change. And God will even serve up the courage for us to do so. So it is a no-lose circumstance. We simply need to follow through.

    Great post.

    Ciao.

    Chaz

  3. March 10, 2009 7:30 am

    BTW… the key to the “Pressing Through” teaching from J Meyer was the Serenity Prayer which she has embroidered on a pillow in her office for this very purpose.

    Ciao.

    Chaz

Leave a Reply

